Week Eleven – Day Four – Breakfast (Kedgeree)

Yesterday I promised something new for next weekend but I felt adventurous this morning and so went for it today instead. I have made kedgeree before but it normally includes things like butter, milk, and cream – big no nos if I want to keep the syns down. I challenged myself to make a syn free version which didn’t lose any of the full and exciting flavours. The other tweak I had to make was that I had smoked cod, not smoked haddock. Not the end of the world and certainly didn’t change the tasty end result.

I placed the 100g of smoked cod in a pan with half a stock cube (veg or chicken – not beef) and a small bay leaf, I added just enough water to cover the fish and brought to the boil. While this was cooking, I diced a small onion and softened it off in some FryLight, once it was soft and starting to colour, I added a heaped tsp of mild curry powder (I wouldn’t recommend using anything too hot as the fish is quite a delicate flavour and after all, it is a breakfast dish!). Also on the go at the same time was 70g easy cook long grain white rice in slightly salted boiling water. I boiled the rice for 10mins (so it was slightly undercooked) then drained it and added it to the onion mixture.

At this point the fish was cooked so I removed the fish and set aside and threw away the bay leaf. The stock the fish was cooked in went into the rice and onions along with a handful of frozen peas. I turned the heat down and set it to simmer gently, stirring often so the rice didn’t stick to the bottom.

I brought a pan of water back to the boil and gently lowered in one egg. This was boiled for 1min before turning off the heat, the lid goes back on and the egg is left to sit in the water for exactly 7mins. After 7mins, I ran it under some cold water to make it cool enough to touch.

Finally, the fish got folded back into the rice mixture and I peeled the egg. The kedgeree was popped into a bowl and topped with the quartered boiled egg.

My presentation of this one was a bit poor so the photo doesn’t really do it justice. I was so lovely and possibly nicer than the high fat versions I have made before. This will definitely be making it’s way onto the regular meals list 🙂

WP_20150920_002

Leave a comment