Week One – Day Seven – Lunch (Smoked Mackerel and Potato Salad)

One thing about this blog, is it is making me more inventive with my food. If it were down to me alone, I would probably eat exactly the same thing every day as it would mean not having to think about it. However, when I am putting out my meal choices to the big wide web like this, I don’t want to seem boring and so make more of an effort 🙂

Today’s lunch was a bit of an experiment. I love creamy potato salad, covered in yummy high fat mayo and quite high in syns (around 8 syns for 100g). So, I challenged myself to make a syn free alternative. I came up with this beauty and I tell you, it’s pretty darn good (blowing my own trumpet!). I fed some to a diet adverse colleague and she told me off for not sticking to my plan!

I took about 300g new potatoes (you could use big potatoes and chop them up but be careful of them falling apart) and boiled them until they were cooked through but not mushy, I also added an egg to the water at the same time as I’m too lazy to wash up two pans. While they were cooking, I mixed 6tbsp fat free fromage frais, 2tbsp white vinegar (I used white wine vinegar but I’m sure cider vinegar so such would also work), 1tbsp sweetener and 1tsp mustard powder pre-mixed with 1tsp water. Once the potatoes (and egg) were cooked I threw them into the fromage frais mixture, still hot (again because I’m to lazy/impatient to wait for them to cool down). I chopped the boiled egg and threw that in too. Last step was to chop some spring onions (about 6?) and mix it all together.

I portioned this up into two thinking it would be enough for lunch today and tomorrow but having eaten my lunch today I would say there are definitely three if not four portions there!

WP_20150708_006

To finish off the meal I had some salad (lettuce, cucumber and the like) with some smoked mackerel (1 syn per 100g and I think I only had around 50g on this) and some fat free dressing. Seriously yummy and way too much food to eat in one sitting!!

5 thoughts on “Week One – Day Seven – Lunch (Smoked Mackerel and Potato Salad)

  1. This looks lovely! I’ve just started a Slimming World blog too, and I’m hoping it’s going to make me try out lovely new recipes all the time. How long have you been following the plan? I love it so much!

    • Thanks 🙂 It was really tasty and I didn’t miss the mayo at all! I’ve been to SW before a couple of years ago and lost 3 stone but personal circumstances mean I have put it all back on in the last year 😦 This is my first week of being fully to plan, in fact I have my first weigh in tonight. I’m quite excited! How long have you been doing the plan?

      • Only 5 months or so, but I’ve lost 1.5 stone – some people lose it so quickly but my body seems to prefer slow and steady 😂 have you tried aldi’s really light mayo? It’s great and only 15 syns for the entire bottle!

      • That’s amazing, congratulations 🙂 I think slow and steady is a much better route to keeping it off permanently. I haven’t tried the Aldi mayo, I’m going to have to make a special trip over there now!

  2. Pingback: Week Eleven – Day Seven – Dinner (Work BBQ) | Slimming World Friendly

Leave a comment